PDA

View Full Version : An Overview Of Your Day

mindingmummy08
15-02-2012, 08:22 AM
I'm very new to childminding onto my third week with an actual mindee and she loves my home and me and my kids but I worry I'm not DOING enough with her.

On a morning we get out of the house to a group or the park, back for lunch time and then we have free play with whatever resources I've set out so today we have the home corner which is always there with kitchen, dressing up, dolls, washing machine and hoover. On the otherside of the living room we have my little play table and a huge selection of mega blocks plus a mega blocks truck. I let them play freely between these. She naps at the same time as my daughter 2-3.

I then try to have an adult led activity such as colouring, messy play, painting or crafts but obviously it doesn't last long and they get back to free play.

I get down and play with her for a while but she mostly wants to play with my children so I find I can sit and do her learning journey or some paperwork easily and after tea time she goes home and my downstairs is packed away ready for night time easy peasy.

Should I be doing more with them or is the free play system of an afternoon ok? I talk to them all the time and I plan what resources I will put out based on her needs and likes. She comes over for a cuddle now and again and she loves to look at the photos I've taken.

I'd love to get a snippit of your day. Is there anything I can improve? I'm hoping as she gets older (she is 1) activties I set out will become more complex and last longer like making biscuits and discovery play.

The Juggler
15-02-2012, 08:25 AM
brekkie
school run
toddler group/other CM house (or they at mine)/library
messy activity in morning usually
freeplay in morning also
lunch
dancing
storytime
naptime
school run
freeplay
snacktime
messy play activity
home