PDA

View Full Version : Childminding for a relative - help!

boxofkittens
23-05-2008, 01:28 PM
Hello, I'm a newbie here in need of some advice!
I'm thinking of childminding for my niece (aged 4) after school and summer holidays. I can't find definitive information about whether or not I need to be registered and what that would involve. Can anyone help with this?
Thank you!

Pipsqueak
23-05-2008, 01:39 PM
Hi Kittens

To clarify - to be a Childminder yes you have to be registered - so you cannot call yourself that if you do not register.

It depends on how long for/where you will be caring for you neice.

Anything over 2hrs per day
for payment or reward
in your own home

will be considered (unreg'd) childminding.

If you are doing any of the above - I would say Register.

katickles
23-05-2008, 04:03 PM
Yeah pipsqueaks right there - so its a registration process for you me thinks :)

miffy
23-05-2008, 07:23 PM
I agree - good luck

miffy xx

tulip0803
23-05-2008, 07:30 PM
Hi

I agree. Payment and reward does not just mean being given money if you are given anything in return for the child-care you need to register.

If you do not register you could be fined up to £4000.

http://www.ofsted.gov.uk/assets/3706.pdf This includes a section on unregistered childminding as well as the regulations.

If you register then the child's parents can get help with payments through child tax credits if they are entitled.

boxofkittens
23-05-2008, 07:37 PM
Brilliant, thank you all so much for your help! It's much appreciated. Guess I'd better get cracking then!

tulip0803
23-05-2008, 07:41 PM
Good luck:) Any other questions just ask someone will know the answer:) Speak to you soon.

Blaze
23-05-2008, 09:12 PM