PDA

View Full Version : can anyone advise, im new to CM

aj2579
25-01-2012, 02:31 PM
Hi everyone, my name is Adele and im new to childminding, i have been registered since October 2011 and i have one after school child in my care, i advertise on netmums and childcare.co.uk and im on the FIS, along with an advert at my local londis shop, however ive had a few families out to view my setting they have all turned me down as they feel my home is to small, i am in a small house but seeing has Ofsted have registered me with a ratio of children its becoming frustrating with the responses that im getting from parents and is putting me down a bit on childminding! I was wondering if any of you could give me some tips to help my 'interview' with parents better to they dont see the size of my home an issue, im a very out going person and have thrown myself in to the interviews and have all responded that im a lovely person with a beatiful family but unfortunatley they feel my home does not have enough space for thier child. Also ive now gone very quiet with the enquiries that was coming and was after some tips of where else i could advertise? im desparate to starting some full time work and am on the brink of giving up i think!

your help would be very much appreciated :-)

marnieb
25-01-2012, 02:51 PM
Hi, and welcome to the forum!

I have a small 2 bed flat, and use it as my selling point - I can always see & hear the mindees, when they're asleep they're in the room next to me. Would that work for you??

claireLouise
25-01-2012, 02:52 PM
I'm sorry to hear that you are having problem,s.. Maybe declutter before parents visit. Also enforcise how you make the best use of the room you have.

For example I use my dining room for eating, arts and crafts and homework; my playroom for just that playing; my lounge for quiet time but overspill from playroom when no one sleeping and busy.

Hope this helps, don't give up!

Best wishes

Claire

rosebud
25-01-2012, 03:12 PM