PDA

View Full Version : Husband is driving my MAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Little steps
14-01-2012, 10:55 PM
I was just wondering what happen with peoples tax?????
I started in Sept '11 and have paid a tax bill that has been sent to me for £12.50?
But my hubby is driving my round the bend telling me that i should be completitng a tax return form (all b'coz his dad is doing his,(he not a CM lol))

Can anyone advise me please on what HMRC do???
do they contact me when i am due to put one in, as i am new to this it is all very confusing, still struggling with the whole book keeping part :blush:

Thank you in advance

stardust
14-01-2012, 11:17 PM
I was just wondering what happen with peoples tax?????
I started in Sept '11 and have paid a tax bill that has been sent to me for £12.50?
But my hubby is driving my round the bend telling me that i should be completitng a tax return form (all b'coz his dad is doing his,(he not a CM lol))

Can anyone advise me please on what HMRC do???
do they contact me when i am due to put one in, as i am new to this it is all very confusing, still struggling with the whole book keeping part :blush:

Thank you in advance

you need to regester as self employed.
HMRC will send you a paper tax return or you can do it online.
Then you have a date to send it in by.
Then you will be sent a letter detailing how much tax you need to pay and when.
Your tax return will be sent in April i think and then the first lot of tax will be due to be paid Jan 2013

Mollymop
14-01-2012, 11:36 PM
As Tara says if you have registered your self as self employed they would have sent you out a letter reminding you to complete your tax return.
You still have time to do it online by 31st of January.
You need to give the HMRC a call and tell them you are Self Employed and they will send out everything you need with the next few days

You might not have earned enought to pay tax but you will still have to tell declare what you have earned this year x

MrAnchovy