PDA

View Full Version : Cerebral Palsy

Demonjill
14-01-2012, 10:49 AM
Have had an enquiry from a parent whose child has "mild" cerebral palsy.

Only in an email so dont know ins and outs yet.

I have had experience of people with all sorts of issues in the past when I was a riding instructor and worked with special needs and although a few were kids most were adults but im a bit rusty there

Just wondered if any of your children or minded children have cerebral palsy and how it affects them, you , other children in your care etc

i would just like to be more prepared in case parent contacts me again which i think she will

Greengrass74
14-01-2012, 11:14 AM
We look after a 16yo with severe cerebral palsy and is wheelchair bound, we have no problems looking after her and she joins in with most activities. The only thing is due to the wheelchair we have had to make a couple of minor adjustments to the house, i.e. ramps etc.

The other LO's treat her no differant and they love having her around.

http://www.scope.org.uk/help-and-information/cerebral-palsy-and-associated-impairments/introduction-cerebral-palsy

This site has loads of info

mushpea
14-01-2012, 03:40 PM