PDA

View Full Version : I would love to start childminding but I am obese

jellyjem
10-01-2012, 01:52 PM
Hello - I'm new to this formum. I have just received my childminding pack from our local council, I'm excited and want to start as soon as possible. However, I am worried my weight will be an issue as the letter which was enclosed with the pack mentions that I will need to pass a medical with my GP.

I have not been diagnosed with anything and am healthy but I am very overweight (5ft 6 and a size 20). My weight have never caused any problems although I suppose I do get a bit out of breath sometimes when I'm chasing after my daughter in the park (she's 3 and fast !) most of the time I don't think about my weight and it doesn't bother me but I'm really worried now that I won't be able to childmind. Can anyone put my mind at rest.

xx

mrs robbie williams
10-01-2012, 02:08 PM
Hi and Welcome to this wonderful forum :D:D I can't see why you being overweight would affect you becoming a childminder, you have no medical conditions have you? thats all the gp will go on, i didnt even see my gp - just got charged £70 for him to write a letter based on my notes!! im sure it will all be fine hun. Im overweight, i think alot of us are :laughing: although i have lost weight since childminding - all that running around and never having time to sit down for more than 5 minutes helps :thumbsup: wishing you all the best and hope you enjoy the forum xx

breezy
10-01-2012, 02:10 PM
Hi, welcome to the forum, if you're healthy I dont see why you couldn't childmind, we come in all shapes and sizes :)

sarahjane
10-01-2012, 02:12 PM
If it sets your mind at rest I'm 5'4" and am a size 18-20 (depending on the fit of the clothes) so no, it shouldn't affect your application at all ;)

Tippy Toes
10-01-2012, 02:13 PM
Hello. My doctor went through my notes and just sent off a very brief letter stating I was fit to child mind.