PDA

View Full Version : Grrr

nipper
05-12-2011, 09:37 AM
Mum of mindee has just rung to say she is keeping him at home today (only does 9.15-12.15 twice a week) bcos older sister is off school ill. she said she was planning to go christmas shopping today but can't now. Could I possibly have him tomorrow instead? I replied only if she doesn't mind him coming to the dentist whilst I have some treatment!!!

Problem is, whilst I am still getting started and filling up and she knows I am quiet, how can I let these part-timers know I can only be flexible to a point. Should I have said that the space is not transferrable to another day?

I actually don't have any children in tomorrow, but that isn't the point. I was going to get on top of some paperwork...well that was the plan.

EmmaReed84
05-12-2011, 09:41 AM
I would just explain that on this ONE occasion you will let it slide, but your contract states specific days and any days outside of the contracted days are charged as extra. Also days are non transferrable.

Nip it in the bud now before you end up witha parent calling the shots... Personally I would have said no. x

~Chelle~
05-12-2011, 09:57 AM
At the end of the day, she has decided not to bring him, therefore it would count as a sick day.

I only transfer days with plenty of notice and she has not given you any notice at all. If you do it this once, she will expect it all the time x

ziggy
05-12-2011, 10:33 AM
I would agree to do it but explain you cant always be available

boxtree7
05-12-2011, 10:35 AM
i always find myself saying yes ... so in furture im going to say no right away or i will call in back in a minute.

nipper
05-12-2011, 10:55 AM
Well this is it, whilst she knows I am fairly quiet at the moment (I only have a six month old in on the same days as him). Hopefully signing a new full timer after christmas and I plan to let her know this as soon as contracts are signed. I must learn to think faster on my feet...suppose it'll come with practice!