Bernie
10-11-2011, 01:38 PM
How do you do your fire drills?

And how often do you do them?

xx

Tina O
10-11-2011, 02:04 PM
check smoke alarms everyweek .
Fire drills try and do them every month to 6 weeks but I'm not good at keeping on schdule..... I treat then quite light hearted ..... along a 'people who help us 'theme or get a new story from library that has got some reference to fire/needing help / cat up a tree etc.... if all else fails bring on fireman sam... but mindees are all under 5 xx so it's all done in story-mode.... then we walk out to our special 'safe spot' xx T and talk about phoning for help xx

LeeMarie
10-11-2011, 02:34 PM
I do a fire drill about once a month. I either set the smoke alarm off and wait for the children to react (if they haven't after about 10 seconds) I prompt them or I shout "Fire, Fire. Everyone leave the house". All the children know they should got to the front door and wait for me to take them outside. I then record it in my evacuation book - date, who was there and any comments.

It does work and stops the children getting upset if you need to evacuate. A while ago, I was using the grill and the fat on the tray caught fire :eek: At my shout of 'fire, Everyone to the front door now' they all got up and walked to the front door ready to leave. No one (except me) was bothered by the alarm, smoke or flames from the grill tray and I quickly throw my fire blanket over it to put it out. I was really proud of them all for behaving so well and not getting upset or refusing to leave the toys.

singingcactus
10-11-2011, 03:01 PM
I just pick a random day a month. Gather the kids and check we can get out the house quickly should we need too. I do it at a different time, day of week, and door each time.

blue bear
10-11-2011, 07:49 PM
Mr and another minder randomly call each other and say there's a fire in x room and we evacuate based on that. We call at random times of the day to make or real.

charlieamber
10-11-2011, 07:52 PM