PDA

View Full Version : Your childminding career so far...

Anon8319
04-11-2011, 06:15 PM
How long have you been childminding?

What brought you to it?

Is childminding what you expected? Do you enjoy it more or less than you thought you would?

What are your highs and lows of childminding?

Do you think childminding is your forever career?

There are many people here whose posts I read everyday and I know for sure that childminding is their vocation, their life and their forever career.

I think I have been unfortunate with my first clients being tricky and also very tiring because of early starts. I notice on days I get to start later or don't work the weekend as well, I get much more enjoyment from my job!

I have been childminding only 2 months! I have worked with children for about 11 years (I am 28), have a degree in child psych and education, a masters in education and I am a trained teacher. I have worked as a nanny, mentor/counsellor, tutor, carer to disabled chn, with children in care and as a teacher. So childminding is a culmination of a lot of experience and qualifications, and I decided after I had my daughter who is now a toddler, that I would like to do what I love from my own home and run things my own way. I don't run like lots of childminders, but that's fine as it's what makes us all unique and appeal to different parents.

I enjoy it less than I thought I would, unfortunately. I love working for myself and I like being a part of children's development and giving them the opportunities they wouldn't have if they went to nursery! I love making parents happy, but I hate it when they have ridiculous demands!

I've had a fair few lows - well documented on this forum!!!