PDA

View Full Version : Seasonal activities

NicoleW
31-10-2011, 08:30 AM
Okay so far during Autumn we collected leaves and made a collage, we laminated some different sized and coloured leaves and hung from the ceiling with string. We also coloured some pumpkins and hung them up as well, the baby I have especially loved to play with them.

Now... When do you lot start your winter activities? Now it's November tomorrow I wanted to start doing snowflakes to replace the leaves, but is it too early? And when do you start the Christmas activities is it beginning of December? I know everyone does it different but would like to get to know what you all do as I'm still very new to childminding.

The parent I have did comment about them hanging down from the ceiling and said she loved it and loved how the way the seasons change.

AgentTink
31-10-2011, 09:19 AM
In our home we are continuing Autumn type themes through out November as offically November is still Autum and Winter is Dec, Jan and Feb.

However alot of the activities that we are doing this month are overlapping with winter such as feeding the birds and helping them through the cold months. We can then watch what types of birds we get into the garden.

It is really up to you and what your children enjoy. My own daughter is obsessed with Rainbows and the Sun, and we still always incorporate this into all activities such as drawing pictures, playing in the wind, collecting conkers and leaves, because whenever she makes a pattern out of anything it always the sun and a rainbow :)

PixiePetal
31-10-2011, 09:33 AM
I overlap the seasons - will put snowy pics up etc when the weather gets wintery :thumbsup: I got some window cling snowflakes which will look nice but for now it is autumn leaves

sarah707
31-10-2011, 06:42 PM
We are still in autumn until after Christmas... unless it snows :D

Dragonfly
31-10-2011, 06:52 PM
Winter starts here in December:)

loocyloo
31-10-2011, 07:09 PM