PDA

View Full Version : The Mosaic Approach

sdean
26-10-2011, 09:01 PM
I am currently studying the use of this as part of my foundation degree. Has anyone used or is using this effectively within a childminding setting.

How did you find it?
Did you have to adapt it to make it work?

sarah707
27-10-2011, 06:11 PM
I involve older children in planning their own activities - we made a spider chart of what they know already and what they'd like to find out more about and then go off and do some related activities.

They are also involved in planning displays and finding things for the little ones that link into our themes.

However I know that's not a true mosaic approach - I'm not sure I have time for more :laughing: :D

sdean
27-10-2011, 06:16 PM
thank you Sarah for your reply.

I am sooooo glad you have said what you have as that is how I am already working consulting the children and following their interests and fascinations but the more I am studying and doing the preparation for the next TMA the more I think it would be impossible as a childminder working alone (or even with an assistant) to be able to follow the true Mosaic Approach.

I was worried that I was being too negative and missing something that would help me see how I could introduce it.

thanks x
:)

jadavi
27-10-2011, 06:30 PM
Could you tell us what the trie mosaic approach is?

jadavi
27-10-2011, 06:31 PM
sorry -the 'true mosaic approach?'

sarah707
27-10-2011, 07:00 PM
The mosaic approach will usually lead to a complete re-think of the way things are done as it suggests that the children are put firmly in the middle of everything that happens around them.

Their views are consulted at each step of the day-to-day routine and lots of different methods are used to consult them.

They might, for example, take photos of favourite and least favourite toys or areas of the provision which would then be augmented or changed or even removed if that was their wish.