PDA

View Full Version : knife and fork

nipper
11-10-2011, 06:12 PM
Eight year old mindee does not seem able to hold knife and fork in the correct hands, instead preferring to hold fork in right hand, whilst using left hand to 'shovel' food onto aforementioned fork or worse still into mouth. DS 7 and DD4 looked on in disbelief when he first came to us. I'm just worried they might start to emulate him. Is it too much too expect his mum to support me or am I fighting a losing battle? I used to be a Primary school teacher and it was and still is a pet hate of mine...bad table manners. (spag bol tonight for tea...eaten one handed of course, well there's a time and place isn't there?)

QualityCare
11-10-2011, 06:54 PM
I would tell him that as he does not eat using the knife you will give him a spoon and fork instead and if he wants to eat his meal he will use them and he can have a knife like the other children when he feels he is ready to use it. if he doesn't use the spoon and fork l would remove the meal.
I agree about table manners and parents should be supportive.

ChocolateChip
11-10-2011, 06:58 PM
Bit of a bugbear of mine too!
You could certainly ask mum for support but at that age he really should be able to take your standards on board regardless of what happens at home.
I sometimes think I expect too much, but is it really too much to ask?
I am left handed but was still taught to use a knife and fork properly, and I can't remember not being able to use them so must have managed it at a fairly early age. (perhaps I just liked my food too much? :laughing: )