PDA

View Full Version : BA Hons early childhood studies or Foundation Degree in Early Years?

LucyLu
09-10-2011, 06:43 PM
Hi!
Was just wondering if anyone had any advice? Im debating about starting either my BA Hons in Early Childhood Studies or my Foundation Degree in early years. I was just wondering which one is better/higher level?
I have lots of experience, worked at senior level in day nursery for 4 years etc and feel like pushing myself some more.

Any advice much appreciated

thank you

Lucy

T0ffee
09-10-2011, 07:17 PM
Hi, being as I'm taking my year 5 exam tomorrow in BA (hons)youth and childhood studies and know many people who have done the foundation degree that's what I wish I'd have done first!! You can always go on to top up your degree if you then want to continue.

I work full time child minding, x2 kids on my own and I tell you if I pass this exam tomorrow it'll be a miracle.

I've been studying mine through the open university and it's tough going!!

rosebud
09-10-2011, 07:22 PM
I agree with Toffee, do the Foundation Degree and then top up to BA hons when you're ready. You don't have to it all in one go that way and can take a break between the 2 year Foundation Degree and the final year of the BA hons if you need to. I don't about other universitys but with Open Uni you can get a level 4 certificate in Early Years on the way to achieving the Foundation Degree too.

Toffee: GOOD LUCK for the exam, I'm sure it will go better than you think.

LucyLu
09-10-2011, 07:40 PM
thanks for your replies.

Possible stupid question but are exams involved in both of the courses?

So if i was to do my foundation degree for two years, i could then take the third year to make it a BA Hons?

I need to look into both a bit more i think but thank you for your thoughts, i take them on board!