PDA

View Full Version : any ex-teachers out there?

kayjay
08-10-2011, 08:36 PM
Hi everybody - I've just joined the forum as I'm thinking hard about becoming a childminder. I teach part time and am feeling v disillusioned. I am considering childminding for several reasons: I love being with kids and helping them learn, and I feel that this aspect of my job is being squeezed out by targets + prescriptive curricula, my own children are small and a big chunk of my salary goes on childcare, and lastly I am stressed and tired from the work I have to bring home and do at night!

I am a secondary trained teacher, but I have lots of experience as a volunteer in the early childhood setting.

I would love to hear from anyone who has gone from teaching to childminding -what's it been like for you?

Thanks for reading :)

sarah707
08-10-2011, 10:01 PM
A lot of childminders are ex-teachers... it's a natural progression if you want to keep working with children without the long hours of school.

Good luck with it all! :D

jumping j
09-10-2011, 07:09 AM
I was in the same position about a year ago, I had returned from teaching abroad and had a position working in a school which had just had an unsatisfactory inspection. I felt all my time was taken up with marking and target setting and no time to spend with the children.
I began looking after my niece and nephew, who had some bad experiences in day nurseries, and then heard about the IHP, I completed the course and immediately found that 2 of my friends needed childcare.
I have been registered since May and have 5 children part time, a baby on the way next month, another coming in a year and a parent has just enquired if I have afternoon places, which I do because one of the children has nursery in the afternoons! I've been quite lucky that all my friends have had children within the last 4 years!
I have found the transition reletively simple, and the parents see it as a big positive that I was a teacher in a previous life!