PDA

View Full Version : Themes?

snufflepuff
14-09-2011, 12:31 PM
Do any of your follow a theme each month/ term? I haven't in the past because the children I have been caring for have been quite young and I don't feel themes always work that well for the younger children, it can be a bit hit and miss I think. I now have 2 mindees that are 31 months old (plus a 6 months old and 11 month old who could also follow it loosely or just not at all depending on how well it works) so I have been thinking of introducing a monthly theme.

As a nursery nurse I found themes useful as a starting point for activity ideas- but it was easier then as we didn't really follow children's interests for activities as such (pre-EYFS)

Does anyone have any themes that they really enjoy?

(3 of the 4 mindees attend nursery and so does my son, so I could ask the nursery what themes they are following....ofsted would like that! The nursery, on the other hand, probably wouldn't!)

QualityCare
14-09-2011, 12:43 PM
I don't do themes (if you mean on going ones) as such but if we have the farmyard out l have other animal related activities out that same day, puzzles, pictures to colour, books and rhymes. Same with seasons/weather, the dolls house etc there are always other activities which can be related to them and websites always have a good supply of pictures to print or craft ideas.

FizzWizz
14-09-2011, 01:04 PM
I have young children too (26, 22 and 11 months) but I do a very general monthly theme as well as their personal planning - more to imspire me to vary the activities and outings that we do. Obviously what the children learn at this age is pretty limited but it ensures they are exposed to lots of things - Ofsted seemed happy with this!

Not sure about faviourite themes but ones that have worked with little ones have been 'about me', colours, animals etc

rosebud
14-09-2011, 01:13 PM