PDA

View Full Version : Older mindee starts next week, need some help.

Katiekoo
31-08-2011, 05:59 PM
Hi,
I have a yr 7 mindee starting next week, nearly 12 yrs old. I have no experience of children of this age, help! The child is the sibling of one of my little ones and she is quite pleasant and responsible.

She'll walk to my house from school (1/2 hour walk) with friends. Then one day a week they get out of school early, the Mum says can she walk to mine then go out for an hour, just locally and with friends. She has a mobile phone. Is this ok? Clearly I'll need permission.

Also Mum says can she use my laptop to use facebook, I said if Mum is happy for this to happen and she promises to only look on facbook and agree to certain other rules. I will be able to check the history after they go home and terminate use of laptop if it's misused. Clearly again I'll need permission.

Would she be a bit old for drawing up a list of rules together?

ANY HELP MUCH APPRECIATED! :panic:

Pixie dust
31-08-2011, 06:03 PM
You are supposed to be 13 to have a facebook account even though lots of parents let their children use it, so I wouldn't let her go on it in your house if she is underage.

mushpea
31-08-2011, 06:22 PM
I wouldnt let her use facebook and would be weary about letting her out, I would have a disclaimer saying that when she is not in your setting then she is not your responsibility.
my daughter likes lego, hamer beads, will, reading and playing with the little ones and she is 12yrs

missymood
31-08-2011, 06:30 PM
I wouldnt let her use facebook and would be weary about letting her out, I would have a disclaimer saying that when she is not in your setting then she is not your responsibility.
my daughter likes lego, hamer beads, will, reading and playing with the little ones and she is 12yrs

Ditto but personaly wouln't let her out on her own she's only 7!

miss mopple
31-08-2011, 06:39 PM