PDA

View Full Version : Meals - I need help!

Minstrel
31-08-2011, 01:22 PM
When the kids go back to school, I've decided that i need to become much more organised for dinner time. DH has been to costco and picked me up some individual containers so that i can batch cook and make meals to freeze and then cook as and when needed. I think this is the key to reducing wastage and also my kitchen is not best placed for extended cooking and children who want to move around!

Only problem i have is coming up with meals i can freeze! So far i have

Spag bol (will cook the pasta on the day though)
Lasagne
Meatballs in sauce
Cottage pie
Fish pie

Does anyone have anymore ideas? Will also be using my slow cooker more in the winter but i only know how to make Stew in that!

I know, i know i'm a rubbish cook so basic menus only please :o

caz3007
31-08-2011, 01:39 PM
Casseroles, curries, pies using rollout pastry or just make the fillings and freeze and then pop a pastry top on when you heat it.

Dare I say it look on Netmums, I am sure they had a section on bulk cooking

lulubelle
31-08-2011, 02:05 PM
lots of annabel karmel recipes say if you can freeze them, i always just flick through her books or look on the website. netmums website is good too

Minstrel
31-08-2011, 02:08 PM
Will have a look at netmums thanks x

loocyloo
31-08-2011, 02:39 PM
i make risottos and freeze them. i know you have to be careful with rice, but i cool them fast once cooked, then freeze, and then zapp till scalding when needed!

i also freeze mash in portions ( i use an ice cream scoop LOL! ) and also portions of cooked meat from roasts etc, either on their own or with gravy.

i make and freeze currys and chili, usually cook the rice fresh, but as long as i cool it fast, freeze and then reheat to scalding, its fine.

mine like chili on tortilla chips! ( very easy fast meal if using a chilli made in advance! )

xxx