PDA

View Full Version : Child with possible aspergers

kateshady
30-08-2011, 11:39 AM
Hi

Firstly I'm not a doctor but one of the children I mind displays behaviours & after much thought & researching the net I think he *may* have aspergers.

The parents told me they were seeing a doctor but they didnt think anything wrong.

My question is how would you pass your concern to the parent? I think they are in denial or just do not realised how different their child is & I dont think they would take it well.

School have set behaviour charts etc which I continue at my setting but they dont & I think they can be a bit guilty of lazy parenting. Which we all can at one time or another but this child needs you to be very consistant.

Should I just make observations & give them a copy mentioning my concerns or just mention it over a friendly chat? Or shall I just leave it & manage his behaviour & pass on any tips/routines that I develop & hope they continue them at home. Like I said I'm not a doctor & I could be totally wrong.

I thought the Dr would have wanted to hear from me with observations as this child is full time & it was quarterly they met but they havent & school seem to be just trying to manage the behaviour. I know school wrote to this doctor but I dont know what was said & the parents dont always seem to feel its important to inform me of whats going on.

This child is great & sometimes just amazes me with there intelligence & memory but I want to help them manage their behaviour & the way its thought about by parents/school etc & I dont want them labelled as naughty or difficult.

Any experience of this?
Thanks

gigglinggoblin
30-08-2011, 12:06 PM