PDA

View Full Version : Where do I start?!

Cariad
27-08-2011, 10:07 PM
Hi all, I'm new on here. I've just joined the forum and this is my first post.
I am interested in starting childminding but have sooo many questions and I don't really know where to start and how to go about it. What qualifications do I need? How long does the process take? If i devide to go ahead, when can i expect to be anle to start childminding? Is it easy to make a living out of childminding?
I'm actually a qualified teacher but I'm not working at the moment and want to take this opportunity for a career change. What sort of course would I need to go on? I have a 4 year old just about to start school full time and a 1 and a half year old.
I'm sorry this all seems a bit jumbled but I hope someone can help or at least point me in the right direction! Thanks in advance

The Juggler
28-08-2011, 11:21 AM
hi hon where do It can depend on the area you live in but I'd say expect it to take 6 months or a bit longer from your briefing session to full registration.

I'd book yourself on a briefing session but at the same time speak to your local early years team to see what vacancy levels are like at present for local childminders. If there are a lot of minders with vacancies then you might find it hard to find work. I would do this before going ahead with your ICP course.

Your briefing session willl either be run by the local children's centre or by a member of your early years team. This is free but often now you have to pay for your ICP course.

Good luck. let us know how you get on.

stace85
28-08-2011, 11:42 AM
Hi everyone,

Im having promble trying to find a Pre-registration session or Briefing session in mt area.
Is there a website you have to go to. If so please could someone send me the address.

Thanks everyone:o

The Juggler
28-08-2011, 12:53 PM
Hi everyone,

Im having promble trying to find a Pre-registration session or Briefing session in mt area.