PDA

View Full Version : different rules for your own children?

bluebell3
23-08-2011, 09:37 PM
I am new to childminding and this summer with my eldest off school has been challenging to say the least! I have no problems from my mindees except when my son undermines my authority!! for example i don't want childminding children upstairs because its my children's bedrooms and its their toys. also if they want some quiet time they can go up there. My son sometimes wants to go up but take his 'friend' with him - i say i don't want childminding children up there because its your room and its your toys and he says "but no i say its ok he can come up". so up he goes and then 5 minutes later son is upset because child is playing with something he doesn't want him to play with!!!! i have since stopped any child going up stairs but it is constant like my children ignore the safety barrier i have to the kitchen and go in as they are normally allowed to but then i have to explain to the mindee that no actually he is not allowed in there.
My children are quite well behaved normally but they are really challenging everything at the moment. I say to my children if they have anything they don't want to be played with to put it upstairs out the way but its amazing how many things are causing arguments and suddenly want to be played with. I'm finding it difficult because normally they are so good at sharing. I know it must be difficult for them to adjust so I have tried giving them a bit of leeway as when i first started i was quite strict with them and that made it worse - i think because they felt they were been ganged up on! any advice appreciated!!

Fraggle1
23-08-2011, 10:02 PM