PDA

View Full Version : How do you feel about Childminding?

Ren
07-05-2008, 05:18 PM
Hello,

I'm a University student in the Buckinghamshire area, and am currently doing a project about the opinions of childminders about their jobs, what you love, and what you hate.

This is about trying to find real insights into what people don't realise about your jobs, and how you feel.

Any help on this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Ren

sarah707
07-05-2008, 06:40 PM
Why not have a look through this thread - it might give you some starting points. :D

http://www.childmindinghelp.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=8645

John
07-05-2008, 06:42 PM
You can't go far wrong if you read the posts in the forums, and you will problerly find more information than reading peoples few on this thread:)

John.

Pipsqueak
07-05-2008, 06:49 PM
ooh blimey Ren you are opening a can of worms here!!! lol

OK the positives of being a Childminder

You are your own boss
You are home for your family
Not many jobs where you can say you have played as part of your job
Seeing the sheer delight and wonder in a childs eyes
Knowing you have made a difference to that child / family
Having the scope to change your day according to the weather/whim etc

The "Downside"
Being your own boss (tax returns, own accounts, administration),
No particular job security
The pay!! (and conditions at times)
Ofsted forever changing/moving the goalposts (sometimes without letting you know) and the no pleasing some/different inspectors
Parents (clients) and the hoops we sometimes have to jump through

These are some overall basic of the top of my head things.

There will be lots more people on here who will have their bits to add and you will have TONS.

Little Known facts about childminders:

Our inspections are tougher than a schools!