PDA

View Full Version : 5 & 8 year old boys

mummyMia
12-08-2011, 09:55 PM
I have had an enquiry for afterschool, term time only for two brothers aged 5 and 8. My eldest is only just turning 4 and I wasn't planning on taking any mindees older than him. Then I got this enquiry. Mum is having trouble finding anybody with space and as it is term time only I am considering it. I have not actually met the boys so don't know how well behaved they are or if they fight a lot with each other. I have no experience of 8 year old boys and have no idea what they like doing. I don't have any older boys toys either. I am worried it will be hard to keep the older one occupied. The younger one might play well with ds. Can anybody share any experiences of this age group?

I have dd aged 1 and ds just about to turn 4. Ds is starting school in September so I will be doing the school run anyway. I also have a mindee aged 1 but she goes home right after school run so there would be very little overlap between her and the boys. If I took on the boys I think I would be as full as I want to be and wouldn't take on any other mindees.

blue bear
13-08-2011, 07:24 AM
Really depends on the personality of the children and how long they will be with you. Ask mum what they like doing when they visit and the boys, they will soon let you know what they like.

I would go car boot shopping for Lego, micro vehicles/ play sets, hand held game machines like DS, k nex, cars, farm animals,

Mine like den making with blankets, ropes and pegs, dressing up and lots and lots if craft.

I tried older children when I first started minding and vowed never to take on children older than mine after it upset the pecking order of the house

Twinklestars
13-08-2011, 11:20 AM
I have an 11 year old mindee who likes the same as my 6 year old, going to the park, ds, wii, DVDs, board games although my 6 year old and 5 & 6 year old minds are more into digging for treasure anything to do with pirates etc

marleymoo