PDA

View Full Version : Struggling

Tealady
06-08-2011, 01:30 PM
I've been minding for three years now and have tended to have children at simliar ages / developmental stages before or at least quite close.

After not having any little mindees for 2½ years, in June I took on a baby who turned 1 this week. I have my own DS who is 21mths. My own DD who is 5 (6 in November) and a Boy mindee who is 7½.

After taking on the baby it took me a few weeks to get into a routiune i.e right car seats in at right times, having the correct buggy to hand, preparing bottles, sterilising etc. Now that's all OK but I still struggle with activities and the logistics of such things.

I just feel that I'm not being as good a Mum/childminder as I could be. Both mindees are only children so seem to command my attention and it's always when I'm trying to sort another child.
I'm want to take the children out and about but it's finding something that is good for them all and is easy to supervise. I'm even finding a trup to the park stressful as I have to be hands on with the little ones, I don't feel it's fair to keep the one year old strapped in the buggy all the time but then the older two want to play on the more challenging equipment so it's keeping an eye on them too.

I'm sure I'll get into my stride soon and it will be less stressful but I'm just so paranoid also of somebody seeing me perhaps doing something they don't approve of and reporting me to Ofsted.

Twinkle-Toes
06-08-2011, 02:25 PM
Didn't want to read and run.

I am registered but not starting officially until September. Over the hols I have own 2 daughters 6 & 4 and my 2 nieces 1 & 8 and my nephew 6!

We go to the park etc but even with just the 1 little one I find I can't keep my eye on all of them at once and of course they all want to go on different things!

Sorry I can't offer any assistance, I will be watching out for any advice you get. Just wanted to let you know i'm in the same boat x

Ripeberry