PDA

View Full Version : Help! how to manage younger and older childrens toys???

lwilkins
03-08-2011, 08:35 PM
Hi,

I have been minding for 4 months now and am finding it very difficult to manage having very young children and older children. I find that i am having to say no to older children having some toys out in case the babies and toddlers get hold of the little pieces. I have a playroom with shelving full of the younger childrens toys for self selection but the older children's toys are in stackable crates......

I would really appreciate any advice from those of you more experienced childminders on how to manage the older and younger children's resources so that they can all play with what they want to........ :o/

Cammie Doodle
03-08-2011, 08:41 PM
This is a problem of most of us in the holidays. What we usually do is when the babies are asleep we let the older children get out things that are impossilbe to have out with babies present . I also have a fenced off decked area that keep babies off the lawn area so this allows the olders ones a bit of their own space. The babies enjoy watching , but the cant touch ;)

khlwomitchell
03-08-2011, 08:46 PM
I can only say that my home rule or no 'big kid' toys when babies up!
They love the marbles, pogs and glass beads and have to wait unitl babies in bed and then put them away when babies wake up. or if you can put them in a room with the door shut or stair gate on and let older ones have their own space. thats a gap from 8mths to a 5yr old. don't know if your setting will allow it though.
The bigs kids appreciate the toys more anyhow when its limited.

mushpea
04-08-2011, 06:05 AM