PDA

View Full Version : Pre-reg ..... Confused... help please!!

kate60
01-08-2011, 07:30 PM
Hi there

New to this so hope it posts in the right place.

I am on my way to becoming a c.minder. I have done the first aid course, completed the college course and have had my medical cert completed by my doctor, so basically i am ready to send off my paper work off to ofsted.

The thing stopping me from doing this is the pre reg, im just not sure what it entails and i'm worried i wont get registered. Everyone keeps telling me different things and i'm worried about the eyfs as i have no experience of this. I know i need to have my house ready or atleast be able to tell them what i need to do, but how muh paper work should i have done?? Should i have a welcome pack and all my policies and procedures done?? How much abot the eyfs will i be expected to know as i feel most of it will come with practise.....once i'm registered and looking after children. My children are older now so i dont have many toys even though i have been getting some over the months, will they expect me to have lots and lots, with no income at the moment it's hard to get everything i want to.

Anyway, sorry, bit of a ramble, i would really appreciate any help :)

By the way, i live in west sussex

Thanks, Kate

Oh also, how long roughly will it take for the visit from when i send off the paperwork??

khlwomitchell
01-08-2011, 08:19 PM
I'm surprised noone else has replied yet, as i'm new to minding i was on here but never had guts to ask questions for things i though i should know!

The pre reg is scary but just fine.
I had loads done, but no welcome pack, do risk assessments, you don't need kids for that and ofsted person will want to know you understand dangers in the house.
I needed a expensive fence before i started but i told them i would do it by april and she was fine by that. i spent as little money as poss but luckily have three small kids so toys were no issue.