PDA

View Full Version : Fees

nikkiross1
16-07-2011, 12:48 PM
hi there,

i know all different areas will have different fees
but i'm just so confused about how much to charge - it seems that the going rate for where i am (leamington spa) is £35 - £40 a day.

I have a degree in Early Childhood Studies, so was hoping that could be my USP and perhaps charge on the higher end of the scale due to this. But i don't want to start out too high so that no one's interested.

I was going to include food in this price

but wasn't sure about trips and stuff, i'm not sure what the common thing to do is - whether you let the paretns no your going on a trip so charge more at the end of the month or whether or not trips are meant to be included in the price they pay, becuase surely trips to the soft play and then to the farm will all cost different amounts!?

thanks!!

Andrea08
16-07-2011, 01:16 PM
Hi, yes every area is different..

if using a full day i charge a full day rate of £35 and this includes meals , snacks , fruit, drinks and all outings... although i do not do evening meals anymore because i dont have under 5yr olds atm from 3-6pm...

parents will look around and if you are over charging for your area and then asking for extra money for this n that parents may not choose you,

this is the same if cms charge retainers and too much of a deposit,

ask around your cm group and good luck x

jane5
16-07-2011, 03:54 PM
I charge £35 a day and most childminders in my area charge the same or are putting their rates up to that. There are a couple who charge £37 but not many.

I didnt want to charge less and then put my rates up and I haven't had any body complain. I provide all meals and snacks.

As for outings it depends how often a child is with me. If the parent is paying me for 2 full days £70, or more I dont mind paying £5 or so a week for soft play but if I only get paid for 1 morning, £25, I ask the parent for the entrance fee.

flowerpots
16-07-2011, 04:16 PM