PDA

View Full Version : Ratios etc

jenniewren
06-07-2011, 06:32 PM
Hi I'm very new to the childminding process, went to an information session last week and have the forms ready to fill in.

I'm a little unclear on a couple of things.

My ds is 2yrs 4 months, and my dd is 8 months. We plan to have another fairly soon as we would like 3, but I am 37 so we don't want to leave it too long. So we will probably have 3 under 5 of our own.

If I start childminding asap I know that I could have one child under 5 and 3 5-8 yr olds, until number 3 comes along, when I'd go on maternity leave and have to start again with new mindees.

I've read that OFSTED can make exceptions to the ratio rule for siblings - how likely is it that they would allow me to have 4 under 5's if my eldest was at nursery (once he was 3 & receiving funding) for 15 hours plus? So DS at nursery 15 hrs + and 3 under 5's at home with me - 2 my own, and one other.

Also I read that children who go to school are counted as being over 5 even if they are not yet 5. Does that mean that once my eldest is at school full time, I would be able to have another under 5 child at home full time? Or only for the time he was at school?

It may be that I just have to concentrate on having older children after school for the time being, until ds is in yr 1? Seems a long time to wait before I can cater for 0-5s, but then I guess family decisions come first, and the rest will fit in somehow!

Hope that makes sense
Thanks

sarah707
06-07-2011, 09:04 PM
It is unlikely that you will be allowed a variation straight away without any previous history of childminding or Ofsted grading.

So if you decide to have a baby in the not too distant future all your under 5 spaces will be full.

Yes once a child is at full time school they are classed as 5 for the purposes of your ratios. That includes when they are on holiday.

Hth :D

rainbowgarden
08-07-2011, 11:13 AM