PDA

View Full Version : Needing a little bit of support

Mgoudie
27-06-2011, 08:25 PM
Hi all, I'm new to all this, took me a good 15 minutes to figure out how to post this :eek: so I hope I've posted in the right place :o

I've had my ofsted inspection but still waiting for my CRB to come back and I'm also due to do my first aid course on the 9th & 16th July, so fingers crossed I shall be registered very soon, although I'm excited I'm a little apprehensive... A lot of people I have told about my chosen career have made quite negative comments which really gets me down, the comment which Has bothering me the most is about my age, I'm 24 and APPARENTLY I'm too young to child mind, this worries me because what if other people feel this way and don't want to leave their little one(s) with me..? :crying: (baring In mind I have a 4 year oid and a 16 month old of my own)

can anyone tell me their thoughts on this or if there is anyone else who feels the same? So glad I found this site, so far it's been a massive help

miffy
27-06-2011, 09:19 PM
There are some very narrow minded people around - just ignore them.

With two children of your own you have lots of experience and I know from when I first started, some people look for cm's with children of a similar age to their own so that mindee will have a playmate.

Good luck with your registration

Miffy xx

PixiePetal
27-06-2011, 09:23 PM
I am sure I have read of younger CM than you, so don't worry :)

I am more bothered that as I get older, that might put people off :blush: I am 46 with 2 teens. I also know there are others on the forum older than me :D

Age is just a number - if that's what puts people off, they are narrow minded and may be turning down a place that would be perfect:)

The Juggler
27-06-2011, 09:24 PM
i agree hon, ignore them. goodness most nurseries have staff starting at age 17 :panic:

green puppy
27-06-2011, 09:37 PM