PDA

View Full Version : What do 7 year olds like to do these days?

Doofuz
21-06-2011, 01:59 PM
Inside and outside? I am a nursery nurse at the moment, hopefully starting my first 7 year old girl in September. As I currently work with Early Years, and it's been awhile since I was 7..what do they like doing these days? I have a wii and some educational games, same for DS, books such as Horrible Histories, Animal Ark, some Barbies, Hama beads, art and craft box, Lego, and role play. Outisde I have the park and the football field. Do they still like doing these things? The 7 year olds I know at the moment like nail varnish and computer games..a bit of football and bmx bikes.

I am so out of touch :laughing:

Thanks for your help :)

mrs robbie williams
21-06-2011, 02:03 PM
I have my own 7yr old ds plus two 7yr old before and after schoolies. They like to make as much noise/mess as possible in my experience :laughing: :laughing: they love arts and crafts, they love playing in the garden, on the trampoline, ball, scooters, going to the park on rainy days they are very into playing schools at the moment so i have set up a desk in the corner of the playroom which is 'their school' xx

Doofuz
21-06-2011, 04:12 PM
Oh good, at least I have some of these options! No trampoline, thank goodness...;)

Thank you :)

lma
21-06-2011, 05:14 PM
I have 3 7yr olds during the holidays and they enjoy baking (weighing out the ingredients themselves under supervision), are and crafts they particularly enjoy writing notes and letters to various people and I'm looking into finding them a penpal to correspond with, playdoh, visiting various parks, wii occasionally and laptop although apparently I'm terrible because I dont allow youtube or facebook:eek: :D .

Although I have found that they like to act all grown up they actually want to join in with the activities the young ones are doing like today when we were painting with corks and cotton reels:laughing:

sunbeams
21-06-2011, 08:22 PM