PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone know?

Nadine Beazley
20-06-2011, 07:12 PM
Hellooo ladies (and gents!)

I havent been on here for a while, but needed your advice :)

I have been childminding since Sept 2005. Lately, things have been alot quieter, so I decided to start training for something else. I finally qualified as a nail technician last Tuesday, very pleased with myself :) I have started a mobile nail business which so far is doing well. I am half way through my beauty therapy course and have just started a massage one! I would like to concentrate more on this now, rather than the childminding. (sorry!)

At present I have a few before and after schoolers, most of them over 8 years old, but none of them (even the 5 year olds) come for more than 2 hours a day. I have one little one who turns 1 this week for 7 hours on the Mon and Tues. I would like to stop having this little one and only have the before and after schoolers.

My question is this really... do I still need to be registered with Ofsted if none of the children come for more than an hour or are over 8 years old? What do I do?

Any advice would be greatly received :)

Thanks

Nadine xx

Mouse
20-06-2011, 07:20 PM
The guidelines say that if you only care for children who are over 8 or if care is for less than 2 hours per day then you don't need to register

http://www.ofsted.gov.uk/Ofsted-home/Forms-and-guidance/Browse-all-by/Other/General/Factsheet-childcare-Registration-not-required

If you're not registered, parents wouldn't be able to claim tax credits unless you are on the voluntary register. If you are on that now, I wonder if Ofsted would be able to just take you off the other parts & leave you on the voluntary part?

Penny1959
20-06-2011, 07:32 PM
Good advice from Mouse - read the guidelines