PDA

View Full Version : How to organise little ones things!!

smurfette
19-06-2011, 10:37 PM
Would love some ideas on how to keep little ones things organised! I am quite new to Childminding and one of my mindees is a baby - so she comes with lots of stuff but she always seems to go home without something! Bottles and stuff is fine as in the fridge, but it's toys, her teething bracelet (which will not stay on!) etc which she is playing with, takes into her cot etc. She always seems to be picked up a bit early (I know lucky me!) so never seem to be able to have packed her up properly!

Do you go around all day after them picking up their stuff to put in their bag, use boxes for each child or what?! Mum seems happy with the care and she and child are lovely but mum is always texting saying she is missing something and I don't want to turn her off!!

caz3007
20-06-2011, 08:37 AM
Perrhaps you could suggest mum brings one familiar toy from home and you have things she can play with whilst with you.

I dont encourage the bringing of toys from home, but sometimes one 3 year old does (cos parents wont say no) so they go on my special shelf as soon as I can and then I pop them in a carrier with his coat on the table close to collection time.

If the parent insists on bringing toys from home then perhaps she has to accept that sometimes things get forgotten. Perhaps a policy to all parents is in order laying out how you arent encouraging bringing of toys and that if you notice when you clear up that one is left by mistake then you will pop it on the shelf/in the box by the front door for parent to collect next time

Toothfairy
20-06-2011, 10:00 AM
For the baby I look after, I have a box with her name on and inside I keep her nappies, wipes, cream, sun cream, spare clothes, vests, muslin cloths, bibs etc and the box is locked away in my cupboard.

If she brings a toy with her I put it with her coat so I don't forget it at home time and she just plays with my toys.