PDA

View Full Version : what do you all prefer?

dollydally
20-05-2011, 07:19 PM
I'm relatively new at this lark and just have a question for you all! Do you prefer doing long days with your mindees (full timers etc) or prefer to fill your week up with short bursts of various children? I only ask because my first two mindees were for two days a week (9.5 hours each day) and i found it an absolute struggle keeping them entertained, stopping them from fighting etc. So now I've told myself that I'm not going to take on any long days like that and would prefer to do shorter stints with different children. I've had an enquiry today for a little one, three afternoons 12-3 which sounds good and then I work out the money and it's only £36 a week so I'm thinking is it worth it!!? What do you all prefer and does anyone turn down work if someone asks for whole days or am I the only one!!? :blush:

BlondeMoment
20-05-2011, 07:22 PM
I prefer the long days. Have more freedom if you're not tied to the house because someone is due to be picked up. I have a variety anyway but they all do at least 9 - 3 on the days they come

Bushpig
20-05-2011, 07:23 PM
I could not financially survive if I didn't work full days. My parents mostly work full day, part-time, so I need to fit around what is locally needed. It's up to you what you're prepared to work.

dollydally
20-05-2011, 07:24 PM
Hi Blondemoment, I think 6 hours is about the maximum I would do. I have a little one on a Thursday for that amount of time and it's fine. Just wish there was enough work around so that I could pick and choose!

WibbleWobble
20-05-2011, 07:27 PM
i have a mix. i have a LO who is 5 months old and she comes 5 days a week, 8:15-6:15 10 whole hours!

i have a brother and sister who come 8 -2 monday to thursday. they are 2 and 3

i have the schoolies...siblings of 5 month old 5 days a week before and after school and all day school hols.