PDA

View Full Version : Caring for a profoundly deaf 3 year old

md0u0131
02-05-2011, 09:02 PM
I am meeting a mum with the potential of looking after her daughter who is 3 years old on a part time basis.

The girl is profoundly deaf and has very little verbal communication as a result. Before childminding I was a teacher in secondary schools and I taught a few deaf children but by secondary most were fairly confident with lip reading / sign language or had hearing aids.

I just wondered if any of you had experience working with deaf younger children? Or if you could point me in the direction of some helpful resources / activity ideas?

Thanks

Claire

Trouble
02-05-2011, 10:27 PM
you could make cards with pictures on to show her and then she can tell you what she wants

hope it helps

nokidshere
02-05-2011, 10:51 PM
I used to be the keyworker for a profoundly deaf child from when he was 2 till he was 5. He was gorgeous, and talented, and very frustrated!

If the child is already proficient in sign language that should help you - assuming you know some, but the pictorial advice is good. I had a pictorial day on the wall so I could show him what we were going to do in and which order. I also used pictorial cue cards if he couldn't make me understand what he wanted (We learned BSL together). He would show me the picture and then we would learn the sign for it. His frustration was evident though in the anger he showed when he felt he wasn't being understood. He could clear a room in seconds - he would swipe everything out of his way and then just sit in a heap and cry - poor child.

However, as we both learned it got easier and less frustrating for us both until eventually we could comminucate really well. If he wanted other children, or adults, to understand him more he would come and get me to translate but he really was able to play alongside the others quite well.