PDA

View Full Version : My 3 year old daughter has epilepsy

Tippy Toes
30-04-2011, 09:46 AM
:( On friday the 15th my daughter went into a fit (althought at the time i did not know what was happening) and we had to call emergency services.

She was in hospital for over a week and sufferered several seizures. One day she was constantly having seizures, if she woke from sleep she was going to fit. :(

They let us come home on Monday afternoon although they have not stopped the the fits she is having.

She is on Epilim.

She has three differnet types of fits, full on seizures, drop fits and startled fits.

I am wondering whethter anyone here sufferes from epilepsy and if you could give me some advice, do you have a child who has this condition?

Any help would be greatly appreciated - I am just so worried at the moment. I dont know whether they can stop all of these fits :(

Any help so appreciated :littleangel:

LOOPYLISA
30-04-2011, 09:50 AM
Im sorry i have no experience of this, i wish your dd all the best, such a worry for you all x

Mouse
30-04-2011, 09:57 AM
You poor things, it must be such a worry for you.

Did the hospital give you any information or the contact number of an epilepsy nurse? When my son was diagnosed with nocturnal epilepsy I was given lots of information, websites etc and also had the number of a nurse who I could phone if I had any concerns or questions.
I was also told that my son would grow out of it, which he did by the time he was about 15.

desiderata
30-04-2011, 10:00 AM
So sorry to hear this. My son started with epilepsy when he was 17 after an operation on his shunt (he has hydrocephalus) went wrong. It is terrible to see your child suffer. Richard is on epilim and I have to say after taking it for about 3 months his fits reduced dramatically and then stopped and he has now been fit free for 5 years x They have considered stopping his medication but he doesnt want them to. He prefers to take the tablets and stay free