PDA

View Full Version : STRANGE WORKING HOURS!

mummyme
19-04-2011, 07:49 AM
Hi all, me again :blush:

Just after a bit of advice. What would you all when faced with a prospective 2 new mindees, where the parents working hours, vary from week to week IYSWIM?

Thanks for ny help. Where would we be without this fantastic forum? :panic:

muffins
19-04-2011, 07:57 AM
If it was possible I would charge them for a min amount of hrs, then extra if needed.

However if it was going to take away alot of hrs, when they're not always using them they would have to pay for them all or a retainer!

If its not suitable I wouldn't do it!

mummyme
19-04-2011, 08:04 AM
Thanks for the reply 'MUFFINS'. I see what you mean. Im new to all this so its good to hear what others do. The children are 5 and 6 and both at school and it will be 'some days after school' (i'll see what that entails when we meet up tonight I guess), some days in the holidays (nice as I currently look after 4 children who do not come to me in the holidays) and the odd saturday (don't mind doing that for time and a half and ONLY if it is the ODD saturday).

Thanks for reading x

caz3007
19-04-2011, 08:13 AM
I have a parent that does this, but then at this time I dont need or want to be full, so we agreed a minimum amount of hours and then they pay for anything over that. I felt paying a retainer for unused hours, wasnt fair to the parents.

The only thing that gets to me is that I dont know what days she wants until the weekend before. Its not so bad now as I work 4 days a week with other LO's but when I didnt have so many on my books, it annoyed me as I couldnt plan my own spare time.

mummyme
19-04-2011, 08:21 AM