PDA

View Full Version : TOO LATE IN THE DAY FOR MY BRAIN - PLEASE HELP!!!!

mummyme
17-04-2011, 08:12 PM
Hi all,

Please help, Im getting brainache!:(

I have just (literally) had a phonecall from a lady that I met on my school run who needs childcare for her 5 and 8 year old from Thursday! :eek:

Im new to all this and sometimes find it hard to get my head around numbers :blush:

I am allowed to have 2 under 5's (not including my own DS who is 4 so with him I can have 3) and I can have 5 children in total under 8.

I already have a 17 month old and am holding a place for a 2 year old who starts mid July. I can clearly see that with the new 5 year old I would be over my numbers but I was told that once my DS starts school in September this year, he would be rising 5 so he would be taken off my numbers so I could have 3 under five plus him = 4. So, my confusion is (so sorry about this :blush: ) that the new 5 year old is already at school. I know that I would have to do all the EYFS for him until 31st August, but would he be classed as an under 5 still meaning that i won't be able to take him on????

I don't need such stresses on a Sunday evening when I am enjoying my Easter holidays!:p

I really would apreciate any help.

tashaleee
17-04-2011, 08:28 PM
If im reading this right then you would currently have:

1 x your DS
1 x 17month old
1 x 2 year old

If the 5 year old is already in full time school then they would not count in this number so you would also then be allowed 3 children in the 5-8 category so you would have

1 x 5 year old
2 x spaces (until Sept when your DS would take one of these)

The 8 year old only counts for insurance purposes

In September you would then have a full time space for an under 5 and your son would move into the 5-8 category (provided you are registered for a total of 6 children - which would be the 5 plus your DS)

HTH

Zoomie
17-04-2011, 08:29 PM
To me it sounds okay:

Under 5's you can have:

(your DS)
17m
2y