PDA

View Full Version : Urgent help - disciplining own child

kymberly
14-04-2011, 08:54 PM
Hi ladies,

I'm at my wits end with my own son, he is 3 years old and won't do a thing I say! I'm an experienced childcare worker (I was a senior nursery nurse for years) so it's not that I let him away with everything and he's just walking over me. But there is no punishment/sanction that he responds to. Time out doesn't work, he loves it :eek: , if I take him to his room he just wrecks it and is quite content doing so, if I threaten to withhold a treat or outing, he doesn't care.

I positively praise him when he behaves well, we do an activity such as swimming/park/play centre every day so it's not boredom.

I just can't seem to find a sanction that I can use to discipline him with (at my wits end and I'm embarassed to admit I even tried smacking him but he doesn't care).

I dread every day, he's becoming one of those kids everyone dreads :panic: :(

Pipsqueak
14-04-2011, 09:07 PM
Isn't it always the way.. our own kids make us out to be incompetent fools and liars!:rolleyes: You are not on your own.... think 99% of our kids do it to us.

The trick is to find something that really makes them tick... and there is always something that makes them tick and use it as leverage.

I know it going to sound like I am preaching (don't mean to) could your LO be acting up because they are jealous of you devoting your time to other LO's? Perhaps to him you don't spend the same time with him as you do others.
Lots of extra reassurance, snuggles, I love you's etc. However come down swift and heavy on what you need to.. mind you pick your battles - ignore what you can... tell him that you are disappointed in him and walk away, tell him that what he has done makes you so very sad and walk away....
bit of reverse physc.