PDA

View Full Version : New mindee with a stammer

juslh
08-04-2011, 10:36 AM
Hiya, Im new to minding so still finding my way, and Im not sure how to approach the issue of my mindee having a stammer. Or even whether I need to. She is 3.6 years old and chatty, but really not very easy to understand, and has quite a pronounced stammer. When she is excited it is particularly bad. Parents have not mentioned it as yet, and I visited her pre-school today who are 'keeping an eye on it' tho have also not spoken to parents about it. Should I? Would I be worrying them if i did? Should she be assessed in some way..? I really dont know. Help!

little chickee
08-04-2011, 11:05 AM
I would mention it to the parents. Something like " I notice x has a bit of a stammer - what technique to you use to handle it".

Ask how they deal with it so you can do the same. Do they just patiently wait for her to finish? - do they help her with words she gets stuck on? Are there any speech therapy excersises you can do with her to help her out?

At 3 1/2 and if as you say it is quite pronounced her HV should have spotted it at refered her to speech and language therapy.

Explain to parents that its not something you have dealt with before so are keen to be doing things right to help her.

BuggsieMoo
08-04-2011, 11:16 AM
Also, look on the I CAN website, there is so much information on there that you can incorporate into every day talking to assist little one. x

Pipsqueak
08-04-2011, 12:21 PM
Whilst i don't have much experience of stammers - its ensuring the child is not rushed when talking, getting THEM to slow down, them knowing they have full attention of the listener and they are not fighting to be heart.

Check out Ican website

BuggsieMoo
23-04-2011, 10:14 AM