PDA

View Full Version : GCSE's

caz
24-04-2008, 07:23 PM
Hi I don't know whether this is common knowledge or not but a childminder friend was told by a maths tutor that all childminders will have to have gcse maths and english by 2010. If this is true does it mean that you carn't continue to childmind if you don't have the qualifications and if you have level 3 in child care would this mean that you don't have to do the courses.
Sorry to babble on but i'm new to chilminding and am starting to panic already.
Thanks x Caron:panic:

sarah707
24-04-2008, 07:31 PM
It is my understanding that all people working with children will need a level 3 qualification (or be working towards one) by 2010...

To do a level 3, most training providers (but not all) will want a candidate to have an o'level (old me!) or gcse or cse pass in English and maths to show they are capable of working to a high enough standard to pass the course.

Some training providers will suggest a level 2 course to start with, working towards a level 3 the next year... but whether they want entry level maths and English for this, I do not know.

I suggest you contact your local CIS training office for more info before panicking too much - there are plenty of courses around and training has never been simpler to access.. plus there's money in the pot so most (not all) are free...

Good luck... let us know how you get on! :D

Jinx
24-04-2008, 08:19 PM
Hi
Could I just ask what a level 3 is equivilent to? I took 'o' levels, 'a' levels etc. How does it fit into the 'old' qualifications? ie. lower/higher than A levels etc
Jinx x

berkschick
24-04-2008, 08:26 PM
I got a letter in the post offering free NVA level 3 to childminders.

I rang up but because I have 9 GCSE A - C, I wasnt able to do the course :rolleyes:

So now I have to start looking again! I want to do it distance learning though.

Fandangles
24-04-2008, 09:14 PM