PDA

View Full Version : Changing from a teacher to a childminder

Keeli3
01-04-2011, 02:14 PM
Hi everyone,

I am just wondering if many of you used to be teachers and are now a childminder? I have been teaching for 2 years and would like to start a family in the next 18 months. I have been stressed at school and thought that maybe childminding would be better for me and then I can also be with my own children.

Any advice?

Keeli

tulip0803
01-04-2011, 04:35 PM
I know that there are quite a few ex-teachers about. Hopefully they will be along soon.

Good luck

sarah707
01-04-2011, 04:37 PM
I used to be a teacher many many moons ago and found childminding an excellent way to keep using my skills and knowledge while being at home with my children.

I can't think of doing anything else though now, so teaching has totally gone out of the window :laughing:

Good luck! :D

miffy
01-04-2011, 04:44 PM
I am not an ex-teacher but I became a childminder so I could look after my own children and earn some money - 20+ years later I'm still childminding, my own family is now grown up and left home :)

Childminding can be a stressful job though and there is plenty of paperwork just like in school but I've never regretted leaving work to do it.

Good luck whatever you decide

Miffy xx

lfishwick
01-04-2011, 06:17 PM
I am a teacher in the process of registering to be a childminder. After being in teaching for far too many years I have grown tired of juggling work and family. So I am hoping childminding will still allow me to use all the skills I have learnt and developed, but be more in control and be with my family when they need me.

sharonmanc
01-04-2011, 07:16 PM
i am a secondary school teacher at tthe moment and am about to start the prcoess to become a childminder, like has been said i think it will be a good way to balance work and home. My youngest is almost 2, by the time i am registerd and star minding she will be almost 3.