PDA

View Full Version : Start up queries

Cupcake88
20-03-2011, 09:53 PM
I have been thinking about becoming a childminder for a while, I have a 4 year old son due to start full time school in sept, so this means I will be able to have 3 spaces for under 5s yay! Im currently studying accountancy and will finish my course in June, but there are just no jobs available, Ive been looking for a year and nothing! So thought becoming a childminder for a while would be a good idea as I love children. Im moving house soon to a 3 bed with a garden so will finally have a good setting (currently live in a maisonette). I have a few concerns though...

The house will be rented, do I need to get any permissions, insurances etc to be able to use the house for childminding?

As I am young and will be living with my partner who doesnt really like kids (buts works full time) do you think any of these will put off parents from using my services?

I dont have a car so if I took the children out I would have to use public transport, what are the rules regarding this, or is it better just to stay closer to home on outings?

Is it better to charge a by the hour rate or a full day and half days flat rate?

I havent looked at funding yet, but if theres none available in my area, how much on average is start up including courses etc and are there and ways I could try to save on these costs?

I am also SLIGHTLY apprehensive about disciplinging other peoples children, do children in settings tend to play up/be naughty and do you use naughty step etc for anything as my son has never needed this and has mostly been fine to deal with, just worried about getting any out of control kids! Or am I just worrying too much?

Thankyou for your help :)

Milli147
20-03-2011, 11:37 PM
Ok, I am sure lots of people will be able to answer your questions better than me, but here goes..!

1. Rented property - you should definately get written permission from your landlord.