PDA

View Full Version : Advice re Badly behaved child (warning LONG post)!!

kateshady
16-03-2011, 11:15 AM
Hi

I am just looking for some advice about what to do with a very distruptive 6 year old.

I am still relatively new to childminding, reg since Aug last year but I am really struggling with this child & find myself getting stressed & upset & really doubting myself.

He has been with me for about 3 months now & came from another childminder where he was obviously having problems but his parents didnt tell me much about this, just that the previous childminder was very busy with 3 under 2's. The child has told me that he couldnt go there as he was too naughty! :(

He's extremely hyper, will just have outburst where he will scream in someones face, will NOT listen, can be far too rough - kicking balls hard at other children, pulling their coats round their necks, throwing object etc.
Has to be repeatidly told to stop or removed manually from the situation. He runs off & I have to shout 'STOP!' which I'm sure just makes me look terrible!
He will quite happily sit on time out for 6 minutes but this isnt improving or helping the behaviour.
He's recently kicked another mindee in the face as he was getting too excited kicking a balloon & wouldnt calm down & he also kicked my small dog very hard in the face & also nearly strangled a child by pulling his coat & not letting go.
I cannot take my eyes off him which is hard as I have a 2 year old as well.

I ask him why but he doesnt know.

He is on an individual learning plan at school & a reward chart but I know he is very distruptive in class. His parents have referred him to a Dr & parents have mentioned ADHD but he just keeps saying he will see them in another 3 months to see if there is any change.
I find he is getting worst, especially his behaviour towards others.