PDA

View Full Version : should i give up on a difficult child

Beenletloose
28-02-2011, 02:38 PM
Hi it's my first mindee and i am into month 3 with him, not a good start to my new career.
I think we should be past the settling in time now but it has'nt really changed, i have tried and tried with much pateince but i feel i have failed.

He seems very spoilt and if i say no or does not get a toy striaght away if my little boy is playing with it, he screams and cries, then for about 2 hours keeps calling for mummy, the other day he arrived a little upset and my little boy was having his nap, this mindee starting to get upset for no apparent reason and cried all the way through lunch, then screamed at me to put the telly on, which i did not as i am quite scrict about politeness and explained that he must stop crying and ask me nicely, anyway i had 2 hours of crying before i finally gave in.

as i am not very experienced i feel this boy would be better off with someone who has more knowledge of a difficult child, i would like to take on others, but i feel so consumed with this one, it is really getting me down, he seems to have the attention all the time, and i am starting to ignore my own little boy as he he being good and quiet. this i think is having an affect on him too.

Vickster
28-02-2011, 02:55 PM
Have you spoken to the parents about it and explained the issues?

annabee
28-02-2011, 03:59 PM
Poor you - he sounds very difficult to manage. Is this his first experience of being away from his mum? If he has been to another childminder and/or nursery perhaps you could talk to them as well as the parent.

It sounds as though you are trying to be as consistant as you can with him. How does he respond to being distracted when he is crying and screaming? Does he have a favourite activity that might stop him crying?

If a child has a tantrum I usually ignore it and give all my attention to the other children and how much fun they are having!