PDA

View Full Version : charging for siblings

jellybean
21-04-2008, 05:20 PM
Hi everyone, I am a childminder in South london. I was wondering hat you all do when charging for siblings. I have just taken on a younger sibling to a boy I have been minding for a couple of years. I think the mother expected me to cut her a deal but I see it as another childminding place. What do you do in this situation?

jaja
21-04-2008, 05:25 PM
hi

I charge full each, both children recieve the same level of care and they both take a place up so charge full.

:littleangel:

Alibali
21-04-2008, 05:27 PM
I give a 10% discount, but make it clear that the discount is for the older child and not the new one, so that you don't lose out when they move on. I don't think I'd offer a discount again though, as each child gets equal care!

Ali x

jellybean
21-04-2008, 05:31 PM
Yes I do agree with you. I did give her a 10% discount in the end but she just seemed horrified. But it is a full place isn't it. Just checking!:) Thanks for your replies

Pipsqueak
21-04-2008, 05:37 PM
I think I am going to stop discounts - its taking up a place and I don't get discounts on my memberships, insurances etc....

Tickles
21-04-2008, 05:38 PM
Hi,
I give a 50p discount per hour for sibling & again this is from the oldest childs fee.
Most childminders are the same in my area

fionamal
21-04-2008, 05:41 PM
I do give a 50p discount for the older sibling but have been thinking of stopping this as they are taking up a full space.

Twinkles
21-04-2008, 05:42 PM
Don't do discounts. They don't get less care , they take a full place ( not part of one ).

Tickles
21-04-2008, 05:45 PM
I know, i always just think of how hard it must be for them when trying to find affordable childcare & discounts help, but im maybe just a soft touch!

deeb66
21-04-2008, 06:04 PM
I totally agree with you that the second child is still taking a place regardless.

However.....I do give a 25p per hour discount for the oldest child.

breezy