PDA

View Full Version : Retainer query - after all these years!

clorogue
16-02-2011, 10:00 PM
I have been childmiding for many years and am not quite sure on this one. I have taken on a baby (6 months) for 3 days a week and soon moving up to 4. Another lady is very keen to see me and would like to start with me in July or maybe September (when the baby I have now is 1). with regard to the retainer - do I have the right to charge a retainer for the space even though the under 1 year old space is not available at the moment, but a space is. I would be holding that space open for her and would not let that space out to anyone else, therefore turning possibly a toddler away knowing that she would be wanting my service? Or do i not charge the retainer? I am not sure if I have explained it all very well!

Really appreciate any input.

Rubybubbles
16-02-2011, 10:02 PM
A deposit, as the space she needs is not free:)

or you could see if Ofsted would give you a 2 under 2's varition, even though you are not needed yet, and then you could IYSWIM:D

clorogue
16-02-2011, 10:16 PM
Thank you so much. It is a difficult one to decide what to do as it is so long ahead and in the meantime a toddler could come along and need the space. Say I did go ahead with it, what deposit would you suggest a week or a month? Would she lose that deposit if she didn't use that space? I have always worked with retainers or immediate starts as the space was there. Many thanks.

rickysmiths
17-02-2011, 12:43 AM
Thank you so much. It is a difficult one to decide what to do as it is so long ahead and in the meantime a toddler could come along and need the space. Say I did go ahead with it, what deposit would you suggest a week or a month? Would she lose that deposit if she didn't use that space? I have always worked with retainers or immediate starts as the space was there. Many thanks.