PDA

View Full Version : Babysitting

bexcee
16-02-2011, 09:31 PM
Just need to get your opinions on babysitting. One of my mindee's mum has asked if I would babysit on a regular basis but there are a few things I need some advice on:

What should I charge? My normal hourly rate or something else? It would be for two children, the one that I mind and an older sibling. Do I charge per child or per hour? Haven't babysat since I was a teenager!

I feel that as I am a professional :) I should charge more than a 16 year old teenager with little experience and no childcare qualifications but I know how it is when you have children and want a night out so don't want to over charge and appear greedy!

The children will most likely be asleep while I am there, there will be no paperwork :) and it will be a good chance for me to do some coursework and the extra money will come in handy too.

So just after some advice from you lovely lot really, how do you do it?

carol cameron
16-02-2011, 09:39 PM
Personally, I charge £30 for 7.30pm until 11.30pm for two children.
I am happy to give up my evenings occassionally for that.:)

miffy
16-02-2011, 09:41 PM
Do you know what the going rate is for teenagers in your area?

I'd find out and charge a bit more than that

Miffy xx

PixiePetal
16-02-2011, 09:51 PM
my 16 yr old Dd gets £5/hour. I would ask for £6.50/hr minimum based on that.

Areas are different, more after midnight and for me a taxi or lift home as I don't drive :thumbsup: Many years ago when I babysat regularly for the family I nannied, they phoned when they were on their way home, I got ready and the taxi they had used then took me home - pre paid by them of course.

bexcee
16-02-2011, 09:58 PM
Thanks for the replies, knew I could rely on you lot for some sensible advice ;)

Teenagers seem to charge £5 an hour around here so I guess on that I could charge £6 an hour with a minimum of 2 hour booking.

Also do you declare your babysitting earnings or is 'cash in hand' ;)