PDA

View Full Version : OBABY Xi Sport Tandem vs Phil and Teds

Katiekoo
10-02-2011, 10:44 AM
I really want a new double buggy - fed up of side by side nipper with fixed front wheel.
So ideally I'd love a Phil and Teds - but it's soo expensive (I'm just starting out), even 2nd hand ones with wear and tear are £200.
So I looked at the OBABY Xi Sport Tandem as it seems to work in the same way and I could just about afford a new one at £230 ish.
So advice please, is it better to have a phil and teds with it'ss great reputation, that is scuffed and has wear and tear, or a brand new OBABY? I know the Phil and Teds can have a pod attached as a 3rd seat - would be a benefit - not sure if the OBABY can.

So many factors - such a big expense, I really can't afford a mistake!;)

I have a 2 and a half yr dd, who will walk short distances, plus two mindees both approaching 11 months.
Fed up because I don't fit into local shops with my nipper, I have to lift it to turn and I've done my shoulder in, I can't wheel sleeping babies into house as it won't fit plus I have to have a single and a double - I'd prefer to have one that can adapt and be both.

Also if advised to get a Phil and teds - which one please?

The Juggler
10-02-2011, 12:39 PM
not sure about this model but I've borrowed an obaby side by side before and it is very heavy and cumbersome. I'd check the weight :thumbsup:

kel1983
10-02-2011, 12:44 PM
I read loads of reviews on the internet which were not good. I too was looking at this as a cheaper option. I also would love to hear from someone on here that has used one or owns one. I know everyone raves about the Phil and Teds.

jo.jo76
10-02-2011, 12:52 PM
There was a recent discussion comparing the two, take a look
http://childmindinghelp.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?t=74759

Katiekoo
10-02-2011, 02:41 PM
Thanks for that info, it's not looking good for the Obaby! I'll have to get searching ebay and Gumtree!

Katiekoo
10-02-2011, 02:57 PM