PDA

View Full Version : Heartbroken, Ofsted been, had a complaint made about me

Gigglemonsters
03-02-2011, 08:13 PM
Hi don't normally post but really unsure what to do. I had an impromptu visit this morning from an Ofsted Lady. A complaint had been made against me! I should explain I'm not a newbie I'll have been childminding 11 years in March & I've never had one made before so I am really upset,

The complaint is that I've been using my own eldest children to pick up a 6 yr old from a 2nd school whilst I'm picking up 4 others from another school, one day a week. I hasten to add that I have full parental permission for this & honestly didn't think I was breaking any rule. My children in question are 12 & 15 years old & I have minded this child for the last 3 years so they no each other pretty well. The 6 year old is a very calm & sensible one & mum & i both agreed that we thought they would be pefectly safe walking the whole 5 mins to my house. My children also attended this same Primary school & so are very familar with the staff should a problem arise. They also always carry their mobile phones to contact me immediately.

I accept that I've been breaking the rules without realising & instantly rectified the situation (Thursday being the one day a week it happens) but its Ofsteds nxt step I need help with please. Apparently it has to listed as an Action which i have to respond to in writing fair enough) but it will also be logged online for the next 5 years & will read something like;

"Left a minded child unsupervised with an unapproved person under the age of 18 years"

No one will touch me - they might as well just de-register me! Sounds so bad. I genuinely didn't know I was breaking a rule, seems so harsh. To make matters worse I'm just about to start an assistant (awaiting crb) & am now thinking whats the point?

Any guidance greatly appreciated please

sarah707
03-02-2011, 08:44 PM
I have sent you a personal message. x

PixiePetal
03-02-2011, 08:48 PM