PDA

View Full Version : Is it okay to have a 2nd job when childminding?

Cazz
23-01-2011, 04:42 PM
I used to work as a bank cashier before I went on maternity leave three and a half years ago (and didn't return!)

I've been asked if I would consider going back on the books as an "on call" member of staff for my local branch. Basically it would be on an "as and when" basis mainly for sickness and holiday cover, most likely over the lunch hours.

I am considering it because at the moment I only have a mindee during school hours on a Friday. The rest of the days are before and after school. There aren't many enquiries around here at the moment and I could do with earning a little extra money if I can.

The thing I'm not sure of is if it would seem as if I'm not taking my childminding job seriously? I've already said to the manager that if I did do it, my childminding business would come first and be my priority - this would only be if it had no effect on the mindees and their families. Childminding is ultimately what I want to continue doing so I don't want to do anything to compromise this - the bank work would only be occasional though.

Also, if I do go on the books should I tell prospective parents that visit because the hours would be during the time that I say I am available for childminding? (Although as I say - I would only do it if I definetly had no work at the time). If I told them, do you think it would put them off using me?

I'm thinking that I'd have to tell my current parents because they may walk past or even come into the bank and I'd want to re-assure them that it will have no effect on my childminding service - do you think this would be a good idea?

Also, does it make things complicated for self-assessment if you earn money from somewhere else? I can't imagine that childminding and the bank work would be enough combined for me to pay tax the way things are around here at the moment!