PDA

View Full Version : Any successful childminders from small villages?

levason
22-01-2011, 10:31 PM
Hello everyone,

I'm new to childminding but am loving the forum and have already asked quite a few questions (sorry!) but here's another one for you... basically I live in a tiny little village in between two small towns, my village is a kind of blink and you miss it kinda place but it does have a small primary school but with no pre-school or before/after school facilities any more. Im starting to worry that Im not going to get any interest living where I do, so was just looking for some reassurance from any of you country guy's and girl's out there and stories of your success. xx

RachelE
22-01-2011, 10:36 PM
I live in a small town surrounded by tiny villages.

We have a childminder in a village near us - its so tiny, I'm surprised it has a school!

Well, said Childminder is full and has a waiting list! - they too have no after school facilities.
I think thats the key. Parents will move their child if there is no after school care at their school. We have another local school, where children have been moved from to ours, its a fab school, just no provision what so ever.

So, I think you may be very fortunate and have a great opportunity!

Good luck,
Rachel x

funemnx
22-01-2011, 10:36 PM
Welcome to childminding :)

I live in a larger village and am full pretty much all the time. My friend lives in a tiny village between 2 towns like you and is the only childminder. She has been as full as she wants to be for the last few years. I'm sure that once people get to know who you are they will be banging your door down! :laughing:

levason
22-01-2011, 10:42 PM
Thank you, thats really good to hear, a fellow cm from the local town was telling me how a cm that used to live in my village had to close as she got no business, and this has got me worrying ever since, not very encouraging or helpful either!

thanks again.xx

claire'scherubs
22-01-2011, 10:45 PM
ME!!!!!